Skip to Content

Urologic Surgery Group Honors VUMC’s Cookson

January 13, 2012 | Mimi Eckhard

Michael Cookson, M.D.

Michael Cookson, M.D., joins three of his Vanderbilt colleagues as a member of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons (AAGUS), whose membership is limited to 75 urologic surgeons who have distinguished themselves in the field.

The four members from Vanderbilt — Cookson, Joseph Smith Jr., M.D., John Brock, III, M.D., and Roger Dmochowski, M.D. — comprise the largest group from any university in the country.
The association was founded in 1886 to promote the study of diseases of the genitourinary system.

“This accomplishment is just a small reflection of the outstanding Urologic Surgery program here at Vanderbilt developed under the leadership and mentorship of Dr. Smith,” Cookson said.

Cookson joined Vanderbilt in 1998 as assistant professor of Urologic Surgery. In 2006 he was named full professor, and in 2007 he was named the Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair in Urologic Surgery.

Cookson also serves as co-director of Urologic Oncology at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center and is director of the Society of Urologic Oncology-approved Fellowship Program in Urologic Oncology.

“The American Association of Genitorurinary Surgeons is the most prestigious national organization for urologic surgeons, and Dr. Cookson is most deserving of this honor. This underscores the outstanding and, really, unparalleled excellence and reputation of our faculty and department,” said Smith, chair of the Department of Urologic Surgery.